Uncategorized

Call the CU Regents

June 15, 2020

Sign (and share!) this petition.

Here’s what you can say to your Regent:

Hello, my name is [Your Name] and I’m a [student at CU Boulder/ Boulder community member]. I am calling in enthusiastic support of the petition and movement by CU Boulder students to cease contractual partnerships with the Boulder Police Department, Colorado Department of Corrections, and private prisons. We are demanding that the university completely divests from these institutions, which includes severing all contracts, investments, and relationships. We demand that 1% of the university’s endowment is redirected to supporting businesses and initiatives run by formerly incarcerated people. 

Additionally, the Black Student Alliance has been demanding since October 2019 that the university develop anti-racism and de-escalation training practices for community staff, faculty, and campus police. I support this demand and I’m disappointed in the lack of action on something that could be so easily accomplished and is absolutely necessary.

CU Boulder should not wait until a Black or Brown member of our community is taken from us to take action on these extremely achievable demands; Black and Brown lives are at risk NOW. I will be watching to see how the Regents respond.

CU Regents Contacts

The generic office line for all CU Regents is: 303-860-5668

Regent Contact
Glen Gallegos, Chair (District 3 – Western Slope + Southwestern Colorado) Cell: 970-471-2671
Glen.Gallegos@cu.edu
Irene Griego, Vice Chair (District 7 – North Denver Area/Adams County) Office: 303-860-5668
Irene.Griego@cu.edu
Linda Shoemaker (District 2 – Boulder + Eagle / Grand Counties) Cell: 720-633-5251
Linda.Shoemaker@cu.edu
Lesley Smith (At-large) Office: 303-860-5668
Lesley.Smith@cu.edu
Heidi Ganahl (At-large) Office: 303-860-5668
Heidi.Ganahl@cu.edu
Jack Kroll (District 1 – Denver) Office: 303-860-5668
Jack.Kroll@cu.edu
Chance Hill (District 5 – Colorado Springs/El Paso County) Phone: 303-860-5668
Chance.Hill@cu.edu
John Carson (District 6 – Douglas/Elbert/Arapahoe/Jefferson Counties) Cell: 303-524-2754
John.Carson@cu.edu
Sue Sharkey (District 4 – Fort Collins + Eastern Plains + Southeast CO) Cell: 970-673-2517
Sue.Sharkey@cu.edu

 

CU President Contact

President of CU Contact
Mark Kennedy officeofthepresident@cu.edu